Royal Ocean Racing Club Ltd.
20 St James's Place, London, SW1A 1NN | +44 (0) 20 7493 2248

Runners and Riders - IRC National Championship

RORC Fleet under spinnakers © Paul Wyeth/RORC

The first edition of the RORC IRC National Championship was held in 1999 and for over 20 years a huge variety of yachts have enjoyed success winning the right to be named national champions.

For the 2021 regatta, over 40 teams will be competing for three days of thrilling racing in the Solent. Up to eight races will be fiercely contested with the fleet split into three IRC Classes. The overall winner will be awarded the RORC IRC National Championship Trophy and together with IRC Class winners, they will celebrate at the RORC Clubhouse in Cowes.


22 May 2021 RORC Vice Admirals Cup Saturday.Ran - Rick TomlinsonNiklas Zennström’s FAST40+ Rán - © Rick Tomlinson/RORC

Niklas Zennström’s FAST40+ Rán, will be defending their class win in 2020, Zennström’s team also won the class with TP52 Rán in 2008 and 2009. Peter Morton will be racing his GP42 Jean Genie. Morton has helmed three boats to class victory of the years: IC45 Yes (2001), Half Tonner Swuzzlebubble (2014) and FAST40+ Girls on Film (2019). IRC One will also feature the first encounter between two IC37s in the Solent with Ian Atkins’ Icy and Bertie Bicket’s Fargo going toe-to-toe.

RORC Race the Wight 01 August  2020Icy Ic37 - Rick TomlinsonIan Atkins' IC37 ICY - © Rick Tomlinson/RORC


Five Cape31s are expected for the IRC Championship, the first time that the Mark Mills designed pocket rockets have been racing at the event. Stuart Sawyer’s J/122 Black Dog, overall winner in 2019, will be racing with his West Country team. A past winner under new ownership is the Mills 39 Zero II, skippered by James Gair.

Black Dog,GBR 9868,J122 - Paul WyethStuart Sawyer’s J/122 Black Dog, overall winner in 2019 © Paul Wyeth/RORC

IRC Three

The 2020 overall IRC National Champion is back to defend the title. Howell and Newell’s A35 Arcus posted a perfect scoreline to win the championship. Adam Gosling’s JPK 1080 Yes! is the scratch boat for the class. Statistically, Gosling is the most successful skipper in the history of the event, having won class four times in various boats, all called Yes! (2009, 2011, 2016, 2017). In 2016, Adam Gosling’s Yes! had the unusual distinction of a tie for the overall win with Dunkerque - Les Dunes de Flandre. Giovanni Belgrano’s one-off classic Whooper will also be racing this year, hoping to emulate their overall win in 2017.

Arcus,GBR 3061,A35 - Paul WyethA35 Arcus, overall winner in 2020 © Paul Wyeth/RORC

News and images from the RORC IRC National Championship will be posted on RORC social media. For live results updates and more information:

RORC Office Locations Map
Royal Ocean Racing Club
(General Enquiries, Membership, House)

20 St James's Place

 +44 (0) 20 7493 2248
 +44 (0) 20 7493 5252
Royal Ocean Racing Club
(Racing Enquiries)

82 High Street
Isle of Wight
PO31 7AJ

 +44 (0) 1983 295 144
 +44 (0) 20 7493 5252
RORC Cowes Clubhouse

The Parade
Isle of Wight
PO31 7QU

 +44 (0) 1983 293581
 +44 (0) 20 7493 5252
RORC Rating Office
(Seahorse Rating Ltd)

Seahorse Building, Bath Road
Lymington, Hampshire
SO41 3SE

 +44 (0) 1590 677030
 +44 (0) 1590 679478

Royal Ocean Racing Club - since 1925

The RORC was founded in 1925 to encourage long distance yacht racing and the design, building and navigation of sailing vessels in which speed and seaworthiness are combined. Today the club encourages ocean, long distance and other forms of yacht racing and yachting activity.